Mosquitoland

Mosquitoland was a splendid read! I had picked it up in Borders because I wanted to deviate from the heavy words of Dante Alighieri and Sylvia Plath that I had been indulging in. And I’m really glad that I did.

This books covers many aspects of teenage life (and life in general) through an impulsive trip taken up by one of the most realistic protagonists ever written up in literature – Mary Iris Malone. The reason that Mim (Mary Iris Malone) appears extremely realistic to me is probably because I found her very relatable. She has profound physical and emotional flaws (like we all do) and her personality balances both good and bad in the rawest way possible. There is a lot I can say about how Mim is written in the book, but everything she does and everything she became came as surprise to me, and I want it to come as a surprise to you too.

The story around the book develops in two ways: through what Mim does on her little road trip to find her mother in Cleveland, and through letters that Mim writes in her stick-figure journal (I’m not going to disclose who these letters are addressed to because I’m not the kind of miserable person who spoils books – or anything – for people.)

Each and every character in the book was marvelously written, and I had to use the word marvelous because I couldn’t find any other word that described how beautifully David Arnorld painted vivid and colorful pictures of the characters. To me, characters in a book are what makes the book interesting. Characters develop the plot, characters blend into the literature, and characters are the condiments that stand out.

I also really admired Arnold’s tongue-in-cheek writing style, it was unique and made the book so much more fun to read. If you haven’t read the book yet, I would definitely recommend you put Mosquitoland on the top of your ‘to-read books’ list.

P.S. I couldn’t not mention how excited I was when I read that Bon Iver and Elliot Smith were featured in this book as amongst Mim’s favorite artists!

Leave a Reply

