On The Road With A Helping Hand

Displaying IMG_20150807_143202.jpg Displaying IMG_20150807_141701.jpg

I love travelling.

It is one of those soothing activities, like writing a journal that clears your mind and helps you put your life in a newer perspective. There’s something about seeing places you’ve only ever seen on glossy papers of magazines at grocery stores that makes you feel more appreciative about your existence.

There is one thing that I have learnt from my travel experience (although I am no expert, I have only travelled to about six countries. But the things I have learnt from my experiences are still rich and fresh in my mind, and I believe that is going to be the case for the next few decades too) and that is:

Travelling is only ever fun when you do/see something thought-provoking. While seeing a few historical sites is a wonderful way to feel relaxed, don’t just leave what you see over there. Take it home with you and do something with it that will make you proud.

What is the use of going to a wonderful country when you don’t do something there that stays with you for the rest of your life. And I am not talking about plastic smiles on a camera.

I am talking about using the knowledge you gain to help you reach to your optimum potential. For me that was bringing something that I was passionate about and giving it to the country that I travelled to over the summer.

I love animals. I am a member of the PETA 2 (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) Street Team and I am a vegetarian. There is nothing that hurts me more than seeing an animal in trouble.

Displaying IMG_20150807_142633.jpg

When I was volunteering for an organization while travelling, I found this adorable little dog that was born with a disability that made her hind limbs bigger than her forelimbs rendering her unable to walk. I felt so sad looking at that dog, but the dog – her name is Sally – didn’t look sad at all. She was happy and excited to meet me. And in the few weeks that I worked in the organization I learnt that that little pup was filled with hope and determination. When we would open her cage in the morning (we kept her in a cage during the night so that she wouldn’t wander off and get hurt) she would leap out and start barking. All ready to start a new day! We all can learn so much from her.

So this year, instead of going to India and just visiting my grandparents and sitting on their sofa moaning about how hot it was, I decided to volunteer in an organization.

Jeev Ashrya (an Indian organization affiliated with SPCA) is absolutely beautiful and the people who work here are really passionate about what they are doing. I volunteered for about two weeks there when I was staying with my grandparents in Lucknow. I helped looking after the cows that had been found roaming around the streets eating plastic bags and I helped take care of the injured street dogs that are ubiquitously present all over India.

Displaying IMG_20150807_141439.jpg Displaying IMG_20150807_140850.jpg

India is a beautiful country, but the streets are filled with homeless animals that need our help. Jeev Ashrya takes care of these animals and I felt a sense of satisfaction knowing that I was a part of something that helps saves the lives of innocent creatures. Even though I only volunteered for about fourteen days, I learnt a lot in those two weeks.

I learnt that helping others is one of the best ways to help yourself. I have been dealing with OCD and depression since a long time now and I think it’s safe to say that every time I make someone else smile, my heart smiles in double magnitudes.

Find out what makes you happy.

Is it writing? Go to a beach in the middle of the night and writing about the stars you see. Write about the unfathomable blue water that strikes against the same sand that you have your feet on. Write about anything really, because anything helps you find yourself.

Is it helping others? Go and volunteer. You could go to an animal shelter or maybe an old age home or that one organization that you respect so much but you’ve never been there because it’s a hundred miles away. Well cross those hundred miles and leave your worries in the distance you leave behind.

Is it baking? Go to Paris, if you can, and join a baking school. You may end up like Julia Child, who knows!

So travel to the places you have always wanted to go, be it a country on the other side of your world or a quaint village in your state that you saw in a painting. Seek out new experiences and use them to make yourself a better person than you were yesterday.

– Paakhi Bhatnagar

Leave a Reply

