Turning Over A New Leaf

I am an easily motivated person, that’s a good and a bad thing. Being easily motivated to do the right thing is a nice trait to possess, but I am easily motivated to do anything, which isn’t as nice as the former.

Now, I do have a strong will and I do get things done if I set my mind to them, but I do get easily influenced. So when I watched Letters to Juliet just a few weeks after reading Eat Pray Love,  I became absolutely obsessed with Italy. My sudden infatuation with Italy did both good and bad to me. (I have realized in my fifteen years of living in this world that there is no action that doesn’t result in BOTH good and bad.)

The good – I am learning Italian! I have only started learning this beautiful language a few weeks ago so I nothing more than a few basic words and sentences that will help me survive if I ever was to get stranded amidst a crowd full of only Italian speakers.

The bad – My obsession with Italy has lead me astray from the goals that need immediate attention. Like acing my mid-terms (or half-yearlies as we call it here, in Dubai) and preparing for the SAT and also some editorial work in my school magazine.

This wouldn’t have been a problem for most people, but I have a minor case of OCD. And before you start questioning, no I do not feel the need to wash my hands fifty times a day. Instead, I feel the need to finish one thing, then start another.  This need isn’t something you can term as “organized work,” it’s more about the lack of patience to deal with anything else (no matter how urgent or important it may be) and just focus on one single thing.

I am getting better though.

Probably a year back, I wouldn’t have been able to do a single math sum until I had learnt a hundred new words in Italy. But today, I can manage my priorities a lot better. Although, I still do struggle.

OCD is a stickler, it’s always going to stick with you once it has found you. But it does fade to it’s lightest hue if you try to better yourself. And that is exactly what I am doing.

Learning a new language alongside doing the things that I need to do is a challenge that I have taken up to make my OCD fade away. I have set goals for myself, to learn a few chapters in science, do some math sums, learn a few SAT math equations; before I open up my Duolingo app and start learning Italian. It makes me feel happier, to know that I have covered up the things that need my attention. This even helps me learn better. I am no longer in a dissaray, trying to get everything done as quickly as possible, leaving no time for me to just sit and watch a few episodes of some of the programs that I love.

Keeping a reasonable goal for myself everyday has helped me a lot, and I am sure it can help everyone else who felt, even remotely, like I did. Keeping goals is the most primitive ways of dealing with OCD, and also one the best.

I had been tipping over lately, but I realized that it was time to create a balance in my life. It was time to turn over a new leaf. And, oh, the other side of the leaf is the most beautiful green I have ever seen.

 

One thought on “Turning Over A New Leaf

  1. Pingback: Turning Over A New Leaf | Feminism

Leave a Reply

